Scraped Together | Banana Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Scones

I would be flat out lying if I said I kept a well stocked kitchen. I manage to keep some of the essentials on hand, like flour, sugar, and an assortment of spices. My days have somewhat erratic hours and sometimes I just don’t get around to picking things up from the supermarket or eating things within the proper timeframe [currently shuddering from the memory of finding a thriving colony of maggots in a jar of ignored almonds]. Bananas are the worst culprit for this! I’m super picky about the level of ripeness that I like for my bananas, which usually occurs when I’m fumbling through my office for change so I can get a grossly overpriced bag of chips from the vending machine after forgetting to pack a banana for a snack. So I usually end up throwing two to three overly ripe [in my strange opinion] bananas in the fridge to do make into something eventually. This week, the results are scones. Delicious, amazing scones.

This recipe is from one of my all-time favorite food blogs, How Sweet It Is. The original recipe called for more chocolate chips that I had on hand [another result of my poorly stocked kitchen] so I threw in a bag of macadamia nuts I found. So glad I did! I ended up with a wonderfully soft banana bread-like scone, perfectly balanced with the crunch of the macadamia nut.  She also includes a brown butter glaze that looks so good, but I wasn’t in a glaze mood, so I just let the scones stand alone.

Image

Banana Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Scones
recipe adapted from How Sweet It Is

You’ll Need:

3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup loosely packed brown sugar

2 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cups unsalted butter, kept cold and cut into pieces

2/3 cups buttermilk

2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1/4 cup mini dark chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped macadamia nuts

Directions

Preheat your oven to 425°F

In a large bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients [flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, salt, and cinnamon] until well combined.

Add the pieces of butter to this mixture and [with clean hands!] combine together until the dough forms. Because you are working with just the dry ingredients and cold butter, the dough will be coarse and crumb-like. Work the dough until it is well combined.

With you hand, make a well in the center of the dough. Add the buttermilk, vanilla, and bananas into the well. Mix together with a spoon until the dough comes together. At this point the dough is pretty sticky but keep working it until combined. Then fold in the chocolate chips and macadamia nuts.

On a clean and floured surface [and hands!] divide the dough in half. Pat each half into circles and cut each circle into 8 wedges.

Place wedges on a baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes. Cool and dig in!

Image

These scones didn’t make it past a few days in my kitchen as I snacked on them every chance I got. I absolutely loved how they came out and would highly recommend trying out this recipe! Next time I think I might just have to splurge and go for the brown butter glaze!

One thought on “Scraped Together | Banana Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Scones

  1. Pingback: Buttermilk Chocolate Chip Scones | The Half Baked Thesis

Leave a Reply

